Skip navigation

If you’re flying with Seair, kindly check out their InFlight Magazine December 2009 – January 2010 issue.

side by side with my friend, Allan’s Cagbalete Island photo

My Turtle Sanctuary photo is included in their Insider Guide’s “Nature Unfurled”. It is about 10 beautiful landscape photos across the Philippines.

The Lone Tree of Turtle Sanctuary in Matina Aplaya, Davao City

The trip to this place was just a side trip of my Mt. Apo climb last April 2009. I asked a favor to Rhonson Ng if he can take me to the sanctuary. He fetched me at my inn around 4am and drove us to the place. I was surprised when I found out that our destination is just located in the city, Punta Dumalag, Barangay Matina Aplaya to be exact.

The turtle sanctuary is a property of Aboitiz but it is turned over to the DENR and to the city of Davao. It is now manned by Task Force Pawikan Davao, an organization tasked to protect and conserve the area. The place is guarded. After the turtles lay their eggs, it will be transferred to a hatchery to protect it from poachers and predators. The eggs must also be protected from rain and seawater.

Get your copy of Seair InFlight Magazine. Callย (632) 840-2803 for subscription.

7 Comments

  1. congrats idol!

  2. ang mga idol at master. kahanga hanga talaga.

  3. one of the best photos of Turtle Sanctuary! hope ma visit ko rin yan sa davao one of these days. thanks for the mention ^^

  4. Wow! You shoot beautiful landscape! I miss Davao. I’ve only been to Island Paradise, Kembali Coast and Pearl Farm in Samal but I’ve never been able to take home a great sunset and landscape shot like what you have there. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Congratulations! ^_^

  5. Napaka-well-deserved naman ito Erick ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. abe: salamat bro

    dom: si ferdz, oggie at allan lang ang masters sa atin. ๐Ÿ˜€

    allan: salamat! salamat! it is my pleasure na katabi kita sa print.

    maki: salamat! ganda ng site mo.

    oggie: naku! alam mo naman na isa ka sa dahilan bakit ako nag travel photography and blog.

  7. congrats again erick! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

